Sunday, 2 May 2010


See yesterday's post for questions.

Brazil. Although they have won the World Cup on five occasions, they didn't win it on the only occasion - 1950 - that they hosted the tournament. They have won the World Cup in Sweden (1958), Chile (1962), Mexico (1970), the USA (1994) and Japan (2002).

Franz Beckenbauer in 1974. Brazil had kept the previous trophy after their third World Cup triumph in Mexico four years earlier.

Eleven different countries have played in a World Cup Final - Uruguay, Argentina, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Italy, Germany, Brazil, England, Holland, France and Sweden.

This was the second semi-final in Spain, 1982. After a 3-3 draw, West Germany beat France 5-4 on penalties to book a clash with Italy in Madrid.

Portugal and the Soviet Union. Both had lost their semi-finals by a 2-1 scoreline, to England and West Germany respectively. Portugal won the third-fourth place match by the same score.

Hungary hit double figures to win 10-1, but both nations failed to qualify for the second round, losing out to Belgium and Argentina who finished first and second in Group 3.

Red cards were first introduced in 1970, but no players were sent off in that tournament. Carlos Caszely of Chile became the first player to be sent off in their opening group game against the hosts and eventual winners West Germany.

There was no World Cup Final in 1950. To decide the tournament there was a final group of four teams who all played each other. Uruguay beat Brazil in the final and decisive match.

Hristo Stoichkov of Bulgaria and Oleg Salenko of Russia. Bulgaria reached the semi-finals giving Stoichkov seven matches to bag his tally. The Russians didn't get out of their group, but Salenko notched an incredible five goals in a single game against Cameroon.

In 1982, when Italy, Poland, France and West Germany made up the last four.

No comments:

Post a Comment